Big Goals: Why Make Them?

Why Make Big Goals?

            I have been sharing the last few posts about my process through January of making some goals for the year, a rarely done task for me. As I share this process I want to share with you some of the resources I have found to help me and encourage me to follow through with what I believe God has asked me to do. These three following blogs have encouraged me through countless links, and often just seeing them (and others) in my email boosts my mood and spirit. These three had the most specific effect on my own goal planning process.

Money Saving MomMoney Saving Mom is a blog that I follow for a multitude of ideas, coupons, and encouraging words for moms. She has been keeping track of her goals weekly the entire time that I have followed her, and while some of you might be thinking that might be boring, it has been SO ENCOURAGING! I have gotten so many ideas of things I want to do (Read books with purpose, for myself and with my kids is the biggest example), and how to think reasonably about the goals I set. I loved digging around her archives of goals as I was setting my own, and I hope that you will take a moment to check out her blog. (I highly recommend the post she links in this about bombing her 2014 goals as well.)

The Better Mom The Better Momis another blog I love reading, that has helped me follow through with my goal making. The journey of three specific posts took me to the point of beginning to work, and it might not make complete sense but these three posts have been huge influences on my goals. 1) To The Mom of Little Ones: No, You Can’t Do It All This post had me tearing up before I even opened the email. I went through the list of “Failures” with her and could add more. But if my expectations are secret even from myself until I read a post like this, maybe I need to start writing down my expectations for myself? 2) By the time I opened the second email I had already discerned that God was clearly telling me to write my goals for the year with Him, and so getting this post: Feeling Trapped? How to Find Freedom Through Choices, Goals, & Change This Year Made me sigh and pick up a pen. 3) The real kicker though, what took me from resigned obedience to some excitement was the next day’s post: 5 Ways A Mom Can Encourage Family Devotions. With my missing Louis so badly this post really did have me weeping. I realized that there are things I am passionate about, which are getting left out of my life entirely, and I must get them back onto the calendar.

Finally, Our Out-of-Sync LifeOur Out-of-Sync Life is a blog that is a constant go to site. I am currently using the 2 year old curriculum she developed on abcjesuslovesme.com for Davy. She also wrote a post which has encouraged me as she wrote about things she was going to be doing to scale back. Also, her ebook mentioned at the end of the post was very helpful to me and I was reminded again of my own desire to make Morning Quiet Time a part of my routine. Check out her post on the New Year.

Author: Annie Liss

Currently a mother and a wife who loves reading. Formerly a middle school math teacher who kept too busy and stressed out to read. My husband and I are missionaries in Lebanon.

2 thoughts on “Big Goals: Why Make Them?”

Leave a Reply

