Ready…

We all know the next part, “Get Set… Go!” But I am not at that point yet. Go is not the goal, it’s living a less stress life, one focused on Joy and Glorifying God the Father. So, I have taken it slow since having our wonderful daughter. Now that she is two months old and Louis and Davy are back in Lebanon, I think it is time to begin work on a goal I made at the beginning of the year. I knew I would not be able to completely follow through with my Quiet Time plan immediately after she was born. Instead I have spent the time in my last trimester until the boys left only reading the Bible to Davy during his bedtime routine. This was wonderful time for me to share Scripture with him, and to let it soak into my heart in a new perspective as I read to my son.

    However, since they left I haven’t touched my Bible. There are excuses I can use, of course, and most people wouldn’t bat an eye at a mom with a two-month-old taking a break from reading the Bible. God asked me to read the Bible every day though, and I was reading the Bible every day when I had two kids around. With the smaller, quieter, less mobile child my only responsibility I know that I have no excuse before God to merely carry my Bible around without opening it each day. So, I am ready to work myself back into my Quiet Time routine. Here is how:

1. Read the Bible EVERY DAY. Even if I just get to Psalm 23, I know that the routine will aid me in establishing the habit. Once I pick it up and read it I know I will find the time to read more of the Bible.

2. Follow the Make Over Your Mornings Course by Crystal Paine.

3. Grace. I will not look back at a “better” time when I was doing everything right. I have never been perfect, and I need to look forward to what God has in store for me, asking for help when needed.

    When I made my goals for Bible Reading at the beginning of the year I wasn’t sure how I was going to be able to actually follow through, but I knew with certainty that God had asked me to set the bar that high. Therefore, I knew that He had a plan for getting me back to personal Bible reading after Kyrie’s birth. Of course, step one of my plan is the biggest/hardest.

    Step 2 is what encouraged me the most. I follow the Money Saving Mom blog, and today is the launch of her e-course Make Over Your Mornings. Head over and purchase the workbook and course uber-cheap because it is launch day (June 2, 2015). It was such Providence that as I was thinking and praying about how I need God to show me the way to reestablish my morning routines this shows up in my inbox. Thank God for Crystal. I know that many people will benefit from this, but I feel like she has been making this course just for me. In fact, the second paragraph in the workbook is me: “Maybe you’ve just passed through the newborn baby stage and are ready to think about setting an alarm clock again.”

So, I am ready, but I am not going to run crazy. I need to take into account that there is going to be more big changes in my future, and I need to stay reasonable. I just feel more homeless than ever right now being here while my boys are in our apartment in Lebanon, and I believe that remembering that my True Home is in Christ’s Home will ease my spirit.

    If you need a morning routine, this could be something we do together! I will be sharing what I learn and how I am improving on this blog, so feel free to share your own experiences in the comments. Prayer and encouragement are always accepted and needed.

Author: Annie Liss

Currently a mother and a wife who loves reading. Formerly a middle school math teacher who kept too busy and stressed out to read. My husband and I are missionaries in Lebanon.

Leave a Reply

