Book Review: The Girl In The Steel Corset (Good)


I have to start by saying I LOVE STEAMPUNK! I love the idea of a parallel universe in which there are gears and cogs and shiny metal in clothes and fashion that is funky. I love it so much that Wild Wild West is a movie I will watch over and over again no matter how many good movies there are up against it. Now, I don’t actually watch it over and over because I have a husband who would like to watch only good movies and I don’t really watch movies alone. But I do read alone, so I found this series that is Steampunk and has amazing beautiful covers.

    The Girl in the Steel Corset is the first in the series, but I do not think I will be reading the rest of the series. However, do not let that dissuade you. The book was fully in the Steampunk world. There were contraptions and gears and it was marvelous. However, I realized that liking to pin Steampunk fashion on Pinterest is not the same as knowing all the lingo, and I missed the prerequisite course to know all of that. It was easy enough to catch on, and I think the Teens and Young Adults that it is targeted for would like to enter into the world building alongside the book and to see what sorts of contraptions there are in other books that are mentioned. The characters were in their early twenties, but it seemed like it could have just as easily been a high school book.

I would definitely recommend this book to teens and young adults. With all the sex and erotica being thrown into the mix alongside paranormal romances and whatever other parent cringing subject matter that is out there, this was a great wholesome book. There was romance and kissing, but no quivering members. It was a book I could quite happily let my kids read almost as soon as they could read at that level. And I think that the characters have a chance for depth in the following books that could make them very interesting reads. For instance, the engineering done by both men and women showed intelligence alongside the fun of their personalities. So, while it was not for me in the end, I could see the many merits and would suggest it to anyone else interested in the world of Steampunk and Electronics.


The facts about the book.

Title: The Girl in the Steel Corset (The Steampunk Chronicles Book 1)

Author: Kady Cross

Place: London, 1897

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Publication Date: 2011

# Pages: 480

Special Features: Beautiful Covers, Steampunk, Intelligent Girls

Price: I checked it out at the library, but right now on Amazon the price is $0.01

ISBN: 978-0373210701

Author: Annie Liss

Currently a mother and a wife who loves reading. Formerly a middle school math teacher who kept too busy and stressed out to read. My husband and I are missionaries in Lebanon.

Leave a Reply

