Book Review: Science Play!


When I majored in Education in college it was within a cohort that focused on multiage education and play education. This is the idea that through play, children learn. My emphasis was math and science and I taught middle school science for a year. So, with these two passions in my back pocket as I am entering my second year of homeschooling, I was overjoyed to find a book that neatly sums up these two loves. Science Play! Has turned out to be everything I hoped. It is a book overflowing with fun activities for 2 to 6-year-olds which will help them begin understanding science that is all around them.

    The book is written in such a way that you could use an entire chapter, or pull out individual chapters. The chapters are split into categories which are excellent to help both the kids and their “Grown-Up Lab Assistants” see how easy it is to enter into science. The first chapter is laid out in such a way that I could start right away with my son. It is written in a way that a kid could understand, and as they learn to read they can even take charge of their own learning experiences. The backyard and bathtub even become science labs in this book. These experiments are so amazing, you really do need this book. I am going to be keeping this book handy for many years to come.

    The very first chapter of activities is my favorite so far, Home Sweet Home. The title is perfect for the lack of items I need to buy, making my home very sweet indeed. This will be a great introduction for my 3 year old to his new class this year in homeschool: Science. The idea is to go on a “Science Safari”. On this safari (there are multiple examples given of ways to do this safari) different items will be collected by the child that fall into categories of either different senses, or the other categories in the book: water, plants, and bugs. Very few materials are needed since the child will be doing mainly collecting. The next few pages share ways to display and store these “treasures” in a “mini-museum”. Once again, the material requirements are few and you can choose based on what you collected and what you have already at home. Then the activities move to observing and learning from what we collected, which involves more trips outside.

    I know I am making it sound too simple, but it really is that easy! If you have a kid 0-6, get this book! I am not just recommending it, but making it an essential if you want to introduce science to your kids. Also, I am going to be using this book in our homeschool curriculum this year, so stay tuned for more posts about how I am using this book!


The facts about the book.

Title: Science Play!

Author: Jill Frankel Hauser

Publisher: Williamson Books, Nashville, Tennessee

Publication Date: 1998

# Pages: 143

Special Features: 2-6 Year-Olds, Activities and Experiments, Easy to Read, Many Activities Have No Required Items

Price: From $2.68 on Amazon. I got it for free from the library first, but I liked it so much I bought it for $2.67.

ISBN: 978-0-8249-6799-4

Author: Annie Liss

Currently a mother and a wife who loves reading. Formerly a middle school math teacher who kept too busy and stressed out to read. My husband and I are missionaries in Lebanon.

Leave a Reply

