Weekly Goals for the Week of February 1, 2016

Successes

Last week I posted good things that had happened throughout the week. These were unplanned progress in areas that I may not have even had an idea of working toward. I thought it was so encouraging to myself that I have added a section for this. In accountability meetings in the past we have shared Highs, Lows, and God Moments from the week. Sometimes the goals can all be low, but now I will take the time each week to reflect on Highs and God Moments to share with all of you. Thank you for reading! Please share your own God Moments, Highs, and Successes with me by replying to the email or commenting on the blog.

I haven’t had any meltdowns this week or last. It is crazy because several times this week, especially around dinner time, that could have been fights and blow ups.

There were two different nights in which I felt miraculous things were happening in my mind. The first was a night in which I felt that scales had fallen off my eyes. A veil that had been there for years and years was removed. I was at once in awe and humbled. I felt such a joy, a lightness, as if I could float, while simultaneously felt that I had been truly an idiot until that moment. I felt so low and small and stupid as God showed me His glory and truth. The truth is not changing, but we so often discover it and think we are the first. Instead I rejoiced that the Creator of Truth had fixed something in me that was still on that road toward death. He came and made new again a place in my heart that had remained unwashed and filled with sin and lies.

The second night I felt that I had earplugs removed. I finished 2 Corinthians and was sharing my confusion over the content of the book with Louis. I was sharing that I felt over the nights that reading Acts 1 chapter at a time alongside the Epistles was really helping me start to understand Acts more, but there just seemed to be some piece I wasn’t getting. I have felt like the book is just in a different language, like a code kids make, where I could technically understand all the words, but they didn’t mean what I thought. In any case, that led to my sharing with him about 2 Corinthians after I finished it. He responded with jokes and one-liners of a seminarian about the church in Corinth. I stopped him and said how happy I was that he accepted me as one of his own, and could joke as though I knew what he was talking about. I said, “Regularly I would just laugh and act like I know what you are saying and hope that one day I actually attained the understanding you think I have, but in this case I am coming to you wishing I did understand what you are saying.” I explained that again I felt like it was familiar, but I just couldn’t see certain parts. Louis began explaining and, I am telling you, God reached into my ears and pulled out ear plugs. Suddenly my head was swimming with sermons, stories, and explanations Louis has given our entire relationship. So many things clicked together. The same joy and humility were there again. It was unreal, and yet REAL. It was God at work in our lives, and in a way that will now probably become, in both cases, natural.

I remember the one seminary class I took with Louis for a lesson in this very thing. Our teacher was defining miracle and explaining that sign was a much better representation because a miracle seemed as though the natural order of things was being disrupted to affect a change. However, God does not disrupt the natural order, he restores it. Healings and other miracles point the way to God (a sign) by restoring the natural order. This is why we can go on with our lives after a miracle. Our lives are changed, but toward God. We can now pick up our mats and go on our way, return home and tell others, because nature is being restored in us. That is what happened. I am so glad to have a space to share this because it will now become just like breathing, both lessons. I hope that I can continue to grow and learn. I am so honored that God saw fit to teach me, and to use my weaknesses this week to train me up in His way. Thank You, Jesus my Lord!

Last Week’s Goals:    

Bible Reading Lists:

    List 1: New Testament—2 Corinthians, Galatians, Ephesians 1 Oh the irony. I cut back on my Bible reading for the week, but still didn’t get it read. However, I am not too bothered. Two nights Davy wanted to read from his Bible only, so I read huge sections of his Children’s Bibles. I am happy that he wants to read and know the Bible, and glad to encourage that love with any of our Bibles.

    List 2:
Acts 14-16, 17-18

    List 3: Prophecy—Jeremiah 25-28, 29

    List 4: History—1 Samuel 15-16, 17-19

    List 5: Law—Numbers 26-28, 29-30 Here is the other reason that I did not complete my readings. Davy asked me Friday night to read to him about Moses, so I read Exodus 1-7 as well instead of reading other chapters that night.

    List 6: Poetry—Proverbs 19-21, 22-23

Reading:

    Read 2 Books. I am not going to set any goals for specific books, I will just post what I accomplish at the end of the week. I am posting where I am at in each in progress book to record how far I get in them for my fun percentage math.

State of the Onion (A White House Chef Mystery Book 1) by Julie Hyzy 19% Read to 24%

Overcoming Missionary Stress by Marjory F. Foyle 4%

The Magician’s Elephant by Kate DiCamillo 21%

Serving as Senders Today: How to Care for Your Missionaries As They Prepare To Go, Are On The Field And Return Home by Neal Pirolo 21%

Dispensationalism: Essential Beliefs and Common Myths by Michael Vlach 16%

The History of the Moravian Church by Joseph Edmund Hutton 35%

The Highly Sensitive Person: How to Thrive When the World Overwhelms You by Elaine N. Aron, Ph.D. 11% Read to 12%

5% + 1% = 6% Yikes. I only read 6% total all week. I had a really good week regardless, but I am sad I did not make time to read. Reading is something that builds my stores of resilience, and after the truly wearing week of people last week, I know that I am probably wearing myself thin. I need to take the time to read this week.

Blogging:

    Louis and I met about blogging over the weekend and I feel like I can have a Fresh Start here.

Both Blogs: Advertise / explain the study for Serving as Senders Today: How to Care for Your Missionaries As They Prepare To Go, Are On The Field And Return Home by Neal Pirolo I did not write this up, but instead delegated it to Louis. He is going to create a nice bulletin insert and we are going to put it all together without me being completely responsible. I feel so relieved and like we are a team.

Mommy Book Blog: Post about Memverse & Bikini Body Mommy

Author: Annie Liss

Currently a mother and a wife who loves reading. Formerly a middle school math teacher who kept too busy and stressed out to read. My husband and I are missionaries in Lebanon.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Goals for the Week of February 1, 2016”

  1. Dear Annie,
    I enjoyed and was inspired by your Holy Spirit moment of understanding that came as you and Louis discussed 2 Corinthians. You write very well. God continue to bless you on your journey.

Leave a Reply

