Goals for the Week of April 4th, 2016

Successes

Davy went a 3 sleeps in a row without wetting the bed! That is a nap, through the night, and another nap. As I am writing this he is sleeping at night, so perhaps we can make it a longer streak for the coming week!

Often there is a whirlwind of cleaning just before having guests, but this week we had most of the cleaning done two days before the guests. Then we took our Sabbath on Thursday and had guests on Friday. It was actually far calmer and more peaceful than expected!

We are really falling into a rhythm with our roles in life and ministry. We had one hiccup this week in which I was not sure of my place in the work we are doing, but Louis and I were able to come to a resolution that made our lives more peaceful and gave me room to follow Christ. This is what I think the husband’s discipleship of the wife should look like. Another success in this time that could have been a fight was that I felt no guilt. Often when Louis takes things off my plate I feel extremely guilty or left out, but this time I was joyous to focus on the things I knew God was pleased with me to do and to let Louis do the other things.

Learning to listen and receive, which it turns out are hard for me. I only realized that this was a part of my week because of this pause to think of successes. Therefore, this habit of taking the time to pause and reflect on the week and look forward to next week is really a success. This is allowing me to be in my life instead of drowning.

Bible Reading Lists

List 1: John

List 2: Acts 10-13 and 14-16 BONUS!

List 3: Jeremiah 41-44 and 45-48 BONUS!

List 4: Ecclesiastes 6-9 and chapter 10 and Psalms 11-17 BONUS!

List 5: Jonah and 1 Samuel 26-28 BONUS!

List 6: Exodus 25-28 and chapter 29 BONUS!

SUCCESS!!! SUCCESS!!! SUCCESS!!! I read 19 bonus chapters! I definitely think that the focus on discipline has helped me in this area. Louis and I decided together that I needed to start my day reading the Bible before I got out of bed. This was way harder than I thought it would be, so I moved to making coffee and reading while I woke up with coffee, and while I didn’t read through my whole list then each time, that head start helped when I was reading to Davy in the evening. This coming week I am hoping to continue to move into getting my reading done in the morning so that reading with Davy can all be bonus.

Reading

Complete HSP Assignments SUCCESS!!! It felt good to not have to keep this note in the back of my head. I have a folder now with each of the assignments and will be working through them in the coming days and weeks. Each one includes a list which takes several days or weeks to go through. Now that I am started I will be working through this in parallel to reading.

The Highly Sensitive Person: How to Thrive When the World Overwhelms You by Elaine N. Aron, Ph.D. 48% – 50% = 2% While this is a low percentage, I was finally able to get the assignments started from the chapter I had read previously and to finish the chapter I was on. So, this was a success to keep moving forward.

How to Keep a Spiritual Journal: A Guide to Journal Keeping for Inner Growth and Personal Discovery by Ron Klug 9% – 18%= 9%

All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr read to 38%

2% + 9% + 38% = 49% So, almost ½ of a book. Part of learning discipline for me is to

Blogging

Schedule 4 Blog Posts for The Mommy Book Blog

Book Review: The Magician’s Elephant Posted

1 Samuel  Blog Bible Study scheduled to begin reposting. And I spent a chunk of time each day working on several blog post rough drafts. By trying to get actual posts done I got more done than before when I was trying to put the goal at just organizing. Interesting.

Schedule 1 Post for Lisses to Lebanon

Winterization Posted

This Week’s Goals

Bible Lists

List 1: Hebrews 4-10

List 2: Acts 17-23

List 3: Jeremiah 49-52 & Ezekiel 1-3

List 4: Ecclesiastes 11-12 & Psalm 18-22

List 5: 1 Samuel 29-2 Samuel 4

List 6: Exodus 30-36

Reading

Last week I was able to read through my entire Bible lists, so this week I am going to focus on taking the time Louis and I agreed would be alone time to read. Also, there are still times when I am stressing out unnecessarily, which might be helped if I just bring a book into a known situation of stress. A lot of these books have turned out to be slow going as I process through them., so I am continuing to find the balance for reading through them. The discipline I need to continue to grow in is to stop, relax, and breathe. I need to rest, to take alone time, and to stop worrying, fretting, and stressing.

 

Read 2 Books. It would also be great to finish a book on the list below!

 

Overcoming Missionary Stress by Marjory F. Foyle 17%

Serving as Senders Today: How to Care for Your Missionaries As They Prepare To Go, Are On The Field And Return Home by Neal Pirolo 44%

Dispensationalism: Essential Beliefs and Common Myths by Michael Vlach 16%

The History of the Moravian Church by Joseph Edmund Hutton 57%

The Highly Sensitive Person: How to Thrive When the World Overwhelms You by Elaine N. Aron, Ph.D. 50%

How to Keep a Spiritual Journal: A Guide to Journal Keeping for Inner Growth and Personal Discovery by Ron Klug 18%

The Gospel of John Volume 2: The Daily Study Bible Series by William Barclay 1%

All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr read to 38%

Blogging

Mommy Book Blog: Publish 1 & Schedule 1

Lisses to Lebanon: Schedule Serving as Senders Posts & Post Financial Information

EDIT: It seems that the original posting did not make it into the blogosphere of internet. Sorry about that.

Author: Annie Liss

Currently a mother and a wife who loves reading. Formerly a middle school math teacher who kept too busy and stressed out to read. My husband and I are missionaries in Lebanon.

Leave a Reply

