What is This Season?

Last year I finally succumbed to the popular description of life that it happens in seasons. I even gave a talk at a retreat about reading the Bible in different seasons. So, as I seem to be both happy and sad, healing and in chronic pain, basically suspended in a limbo of paradox, I have been wondering what is this season?

When God has spoken and we choose to ignore Him, of course there is no peace in our hearts. Sometimes we put off God’s call for so long we forget what God has asked of us. It is a recurring theme in my life to ask in prayer for a reminder from God because, if I am feeling a lack of peace, chances are God has already given me the answers. Recently I have been memorizing a Bible verse that also shares a similar message of God reminding us and I was looking at it and realized, it also speaks to the source of peace.

Davy’s new movie is Kung Fu Panda (all of them actually, so like 3 movies and a bunch of mini episodes). The storyline follows that in order to be the best at your job you must have inner peace. In order to have inner peace you must know who you are. The red thread between each movie is the role that Po is learning he plays.

Movie #1 = Po is the Dragon Warrior

Movie #2 = Po is the son of a goose

Movie #3 = Po brings his quest for self complete circle asking:

“Am I the son of a panda? The son of a goose? A student? A teacher? I’m all of those things. I am the Dragon Warrior!”

It is a great visual as he speaks he draws the dragon, sharing that by being all of those things he can be what he first sought. This is the lesson I have been learning, so it has been fun to watch this with Davy and derive personal significance from the movie.

There are seasons when being a stay at home mom means more than in other seasons, it is the focus. There are seasons where being a homemaker (cleaning, cooking, etc.) is the focus. There are seasons when my marriage, the romance, dating is the focus. There are of course seasons with any blending in between.

So what is this season now, the season in which I learn how to live a life of discipline?

Discipline and inner peace. In high school I found the word Simplify to bring me peace. In college I felt like I had never known the peace like I felt there. Now I feel like peace eludes me again, and I know that part of it will be to simplify, that I already know the answer. God already simplified my life by limiting my goals in the way that was determined at the beginning of the year.

Bible (Reading & Memorization), Reading, Blogging, Routines, and Weight Loss. These five categories are done in the home for the most part, keeping me in the roles of house wife and stay at home mom. I am actually quite satisfied in these roles when I am entering into them. When I am burdening myself with guilt I find myself losing sight of the purpose of these things. Since picking Discipline as my word I have realized the times when I am giving up way too quickly. I put down a book because it is making me think. I stop blogging because I can’t focus. I haven’t been working out because I can’t find the time. Yet there is plenty of time to worry, criticize, and argue.

Instead of using that time so negatively, I am changing, little by little

شوي شوي, to heal, to use my time for God, to grow.

This picture above, in Arabic, says “Shway, shway”. It means little by little, or slowly by slowly. This time of training will help me in innumerable ways and I know that the lessons, though painstakingly slow to grasp at times, will be so worth it that I have no reason for complaint. The wall in the picture above is empty right now, but will soon be filled with my successes, redemption, and healing. I am so glad to have you along for the ride!

Author: Annie Liss

Currently a mother and a wife who loves reading. Formerly a middle school math teacher who kept too busy and stressed out to read. My husband and I are missionaries in Lebanon.

Leave a Reply

