Book Review: All The Light We Cannot See

This book had me riveted. It had me so caught up in the story I was surprised there were iPods when I came out of my book world. I was completely caught up in the mystery of radios and living lives with these children who I already knew would grow up to be Nazis. I found myself hesitating to turn the page when I knew someone might die because I was caught up in their lives. I found myself putting the book down so often just to close my eyes and relive the moments.

This book was nothing like I thought it would be like.

I was there. I literally dreamed as though I was going to wake up in a shell shocked house collapsing on top of me.

Set in France and Germany and Russia, the action centers around post-D-Day Normandy, France leading up to the end of World War II. The main character is Radio. There is so much to write about World War II, the angle taken in this book is to follow the radios. To follow the thinking behind their control and Nazi Germany getting rid of all the radios and supplying their own radios. The way that a radio could bring light into the darkness, and the way truth and hope cannot be extinguished.

I want you to read this book. World War II mattered and it still matters. We cannot afford to forget, and we cannot afford to think we are ever safe from evil. We must speak out into the world. We must share light.

I loved this book because it spoke of science in an understandable way, which I knew would be acceptable by many readers. It also drew me to want more than the pages could provide.

I have not been this inside of a book in quite some time. As I read more and more books I find myself becoming less able to truly enter into the story. But this book had me walking the streets the characters were walking. I was crying over Nazi children being slaughtered, and then clenching my fists in anger at the German woman pretending none of it ever happened.

After this book I knew nothing had changed, but I had changed, and I stood on my balcony and wept. I wept for the world, so broken and full of evil, in which we often try to hide from the truth. I ask you to read this book, which rightly won the Pulitzer Prize. It is worth your attention.


Title: All The Light We Cannot See

Author: Anthony Doerr

Place: France, Germany, and Russia during World War II

Publisher: Scribner

Publication Date: May 6, 2014

# Pages: 545

Special Features: Pulitzer Prize Winner, World War II

Amazon Prices: $13.99 on Kindle, $8.75 Hardcover, $6.72 Paperback

ISBN: 978-1476746586

Author: Annie Liss

Currently a mother and a wife who loves reading. Formerly a middle school math teacher who kept too busy and stressed out to read. My husband and I are missionaries in Lebanon.

Leave a Reply

