Goals for the Week of May 23rd

Last week when I wrote up my post for Goals for the Week of May 16th, I forgot to actually write goals for the week of May 16th.

Partially, it doesn’t matter because I am posting these as accountability and vulnerability instead of making strict rules for my life. I have Grace.

Throughout the week I knew my BIG GOALS, and still worked toward them, so I will share about my movement in each of those categories as well as some goals for this coming week.

SELF, HEART, & SOUL:

Bible reading

has hit several speed bumps. Davy has gotten very excited about reading huge sections from his children’s Bibles, so I have spent roughly the same time I would normally be reading my Bible Reading Plan to read to him from his Bible. This, I see as a success as he takes ownership, and I am still engaging with the Scriptures and learning from our times together. It is also amazing to be there as someone hears these Words of God for the first time!

My second speed bump is just being a mom, so the same speed bump, makes reading tougher books like Romans (harder to read sentence structure and big words, especially in the ESV) more difficult. I went out for lunch with another mom of a baby this week and it turns out she is also reading Romans. She was sharing how it has taken her so long to get through a chapter or two and I was so relieved because I was feeling sad I couldn’t continue my amount of chapters each night. It was such a God Moment for her to be reading the same book as I am in the Bible and to bring up the same struggle. It made any remaining guilt flee.

Reading Challenge

Since I love reading, but the Tim Challies’ 2016 Reading Challenge purpose for me was to get outside of Escapist Reading (cozy mysteries, just for fun books) to read, I started out this year with the idea of reading through the first two lists, but was also super excited about the prospect of reading all of them. I am sticking to that original goal until it is done, then moving to the next goal. In order to accomplish Avid Reader (26 books in a year) I would need to read 1 book every 2 weeks, so I am definitely going to accomplish that goal! Every week I don’t make it to my goal of reading 2 books, I know that I am still working toward that Avid Reader. The Committed Reader is 1 book per week, and I am basically on track to do that now that I am building the habit of reading.

This week I read:

Serving as Senders by Neal Pirolo 54%-End = 46%

The Highly Sensitive Person by Elaine N. Aron 62%-73%=11%

Grace Takes Off by Julie Hyzy 33%-End = 67%

The Spiritual Survival Handbook for Cross Cultural Workers by 0%-16% = 16%

46% + 11% + 67% + 16% = 1.4 Books read this week.

This week I began reading in bed again. I have tried to refrain so that I get sleep, but have found that reading really helps me fall asleep, so I am a pendulum this year looking for the balance between staying up until sunrise with a book and no books once the sun goes down. This is the perfect season for me to determine this in, so I am content to just keep reading. I feel like so many lessons God has been storing up for me are scattered amidst the pages of these books.

The reading challenge is also teaching me the joy that comes from time alone. I truly am an introvert, I was falling asleep exhausted yesterday and took a bath with a book and felt as though I had slept for 10 hours. I was bouncing off the walls after that alone time. God and I are becoming even closer friends in this time of me learning about myself, too!

Exercise & Nutrition

I weighed in, and I have maintained my weight. This week I still had strength and cardio, just no videos or structure. I am still following the meal plan, and a big part of this week was getting back into that habit and adjusting some of that for summer. I was able to prepare dinner before going out with a friend, so when I got home it was ready to stick in the oven. I was able to make some meals that I have been hoping to, but just require a little bit of prep. Overall, while no videos were accomplished, I felt very accomplished.

Marriage

Hidden amidst this goal report I wonder if anyone will read this far, but I will open up my heart here, partially because very few people will still be reading, I think. This month our marriage felt battered. I shared a little about it in seeking for prayers, but losing our Sabbath time for three weeks was miserable. We are running on empty and this weekend is our first break since returning from London. It is taking a toll to be a part of an organization that does not value Sabbath.

However, we are reaching out to God, and we are receiving so much prayer, love, encouragement, and care from our church family back home in Tucson, Phoenix, and even from people who attended MTI with us. We are feeling the results of the intentionality with which we approached relationships in our preparation for coming here, and they are good fruit. Because of this community, we have felt hope.

We had a few parenting struggles that made us feel like we were on opposite teams, and a few harsh words ended up said in raised voices that neither of us meant. It had the look of burn out and bitterness taking root, but instead we have taken today as a Sabbath, we have forgiven and apologized, and we are reminded that God is the Boss. God told us to Sabbath, we didn’t feel that we could for three weeks, and now we have the consequence of that. But that was a 3 week season. Now we have a season of taking Sabbath when we had agreed upon, and we are going to reap the fruit of that from God.

Family

It turns out that we have amazing kids! They are so smart and well behaved and amazing! They are adorable and little and cute! They are growing too fast!

The kids are just getting past that first visa trip hump, which I am sure will be a renewed struggle in August when we go to Cyprus. This is the longest Kyrie has ever lived in one place. Both of our kids are struggling in their own ways, but we are seeing such growth.

I can’t really even put into words all the successes, but I truly feel like I am gaining balance in this area of my life, that I am seeing fruit of all we are doing to obey God in raising the kids. Davy is getting so excited about school in September, and I am starting to reach peace about it as well.

Kyrie still refuses to walk, so we are giving her walker time each day. She is eating with a spoon (she picks up the food, puts it on the spoon, attempts to eat off the spoon, takes it off the spoon, puts it in her mouth), she is starting to talk with a bossy voice (not real words usually), and I am just loving them to pieces.

We continue to homeschool, but on a more relaxed schedule to focus more on Davy and I spending intentional time together, and less on my abilities as a teacher (which are not great with early childhood). One of the interns we have coming this summer is even going to bring the curriculum for me to do a 1 year old version with Kyrie next year. I am so looking forward to it, and we are continuing the Bible portion of the 4 year old curriculum with Davy next year as well.

Goals for Next Week

Daily Goals to Tighten Down on This Week

Prayer & Gratitude Journal

I felt in the midst of the week that this was something I needed to get back to doing.

Write in my prayer journal every day.

5 things I am thankful for every day

Writing

This has become such a helpful habit, to write every day. This week I would like to find a section of the day to commit to writing so that I do not allow myself to get distracted with chores and emails.

Keep working on following my writing calendar each day.

Cooking & Meal Plan

The prep has been stressing me out. I need to find a way to just do it. This week I prepped dinner during breakfast, which worked very well.

Follow the meal plan that I take the time to write. Don’t change it based on emotions at the time I am supposed to cook.

Exercise

Fit Test Video 45, Measurements, & Pictures

Strength Videos 54, 57

Cardio Videos 53, 55, 58

Sunday Skinny Sabbath Video 56

Reading

Get back up on the horse for Bible Reading, make it a part of my morning again or my alone time.

Kyrie also pulled out my bookmarks, which was such a small thing, but made me overwhelmed by the idea of trying to find my place in each of the books I am reading. So, find my place at least this week and start reading something.

Read 2 books. All my books were 1-Click Archived accidentally again from my Kindle, so I will have to take note of percentages this week as I redownload to read. Just keep reading. Finding time every day to read would aide me in caring for myself and being a happier mom. As well as giving myself a way to learn and process all that God is teaching me in this Stay at Home Mom time in my life.

It was so nice to finish books the last few weeks that I have been reading for so long. I created a fun (for me) Excel calendar for reading that I hope to start following this week and to make reasonable and full of grace for myself.

ENJOY LIFE WITH JESUS!

Author: Annie Liss

Currently a mother and a wife who loves reading. Formerly a middle school math teacher who kept too busy and stressed out to read. My husband and I are missionaries in Lebanon.

Leave a Reply

