Goals for the Week of June 13

This Past Week

God Moment

Kyrie started walking! She took her first steps on June 7th. She thought it was weird, but tried again a few times. June 9th she stayed up late just practicing! She thought it was so funny, and she would often get so excited about having walked that she would crawl a lap or two as fast as she could from one end of the house to the other laughing and squealing with joy.

Davy, of course, is extremely excited for her and he tells her, “We knew you could do it!” He is a wonderful big brother, and is loving his new job of watering the plants on our balcony. He is quick to learn and is able to point out dead leaves to pluck.

Success & Progress

Use a Timer for Cleaning Time I can’t even count the number of times in which I post about a goal that is going so well, progress being made, only to come to a complete stand still the following week! This has been the case this week with so many of my goals. However, my perspective has been moving slowly and steadily closer to God’s own view and I am finding more and more peace in what I perceive as failure, but God perceives as something else. I am still trying to understand, but God is with me. This week, the cleaning hit a few walls, one of which was hurting my leg so that it hurt too much too stand and do dishes. However, in Louis taking over dishes and making me take some sick time, I was able to review my cleaning methods, different things I have tried, and come up with a usable cleaning schedule. It is prioritized and everything! I am so excited to start using it on Monday.

Sweep the Floor and do Dishes After Every Meal Davy clears his place after every meal, and with Louis and I clearing our places as well we have even been able to wipe down the table after meals!

Work through the two workbooks I am going through:

One More Step by Rachel Wojo

21 Days to a More Disciplined Life by Crystal Paine

    Each day I am working in this book toward a “Mega Project.”

I may write more about these books in a future post, but since my writing has come to a standstill with interns here I will share a little about my Mega Project, which I feel like is well under way.

For me it isn’t the cleaning as much as the attitude I carry. I have felt hopeless about cleaning pretty much since moving into this apartment 3 years ago. Moving here with 2 kids this time made me even more wary knowing how much harder it will be. However, I know that God will help me in my weaknesses. So, I am clinging to faith. Now I have to release this bad attitude about cleaning to him. Both of these books are helping me release and work toward a happy home.

My Mega Project was hard to put into words two weeks ago when I started the book. “I want to have a different heart about cleaning, and feel like this is My Home.” That was about all I could say about it. I am still struggling to truly put it into words, perhaps that should be its own post. To begin with I found a list of 20 minute per day tasks to get a house clean in 31 days. So, basically a month long project to get the house clean. Then I repeat those 31 days every month, with a few added projects the following months, since the house will be relatively clean to start from. As I work through I have been writing my reflections, revising the list, and this past week was able to create what I think is a wonderful reusable Daily, Weekly, and Monthly way to do the cleaning the way I want it done.

Reading

Read 2 Books.

Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain 73%-END = 27%

21 Days to a More Disciplined Life by Crystal Paine 15% – 68% = 53%

A History of the Moravian Church by J.E. Hutton 75% – 77% = 2% of the Entire Set, I read 15% of Book 3.

The Highly Sensitive Person by Elaine N. Aron 73% – 83% = 10%

Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy by Eric Metaxas0% – 7% = 7%

One More Step: Finding Strength When You Feel Like Giving Up by Rachel Wojo 0% – 48% = 48%

Some of My Best Friends are Books by Judith Wynn Halsted 8% – 14% = 6%

The Gospel of John Volume 2: The Daily Study Bible Series by William Barclay 4% – ??? Louis and I read a lot of this, but I don’t have the book with me to figure out how much.

27% + 53% + 15% + 10% + 7% + 48% + 6% = 1 2/3 books over the past two weeks.

Start a new “fun” book. Not a book, a website, I have been reading Apartment Therapy posts each night before bed.

Continue reading each day. Take the time.

I spent a lot of time the last two weeks researching. Researching calms me in a way almost nothing else does. I researched cleaning, waste management, vermicomposting, and helicopters. This involved a lot of very engaging reading, and some of it was from blogs in which I could go and purchase the book to make it “count” toward my reading challenge, but instead I just read for free, had fun doing it, and rejoice in the peace and joy I felt through it.

Additionally, the kids and I had many many reading marathons. As I am reading a book on creating a reading program for my children at home I have felt increasingly that I want to just read to them whenever they want, so we have been. Kyrie even brought a book to the hospital for her vaccination and check up.

Writing

My goal for writing this week is to consider it Bonus if I get to write, and to not feel guilty for not posting blogs.

I did not feel guilty. I did a lot of research on things, and so will probably start to write as I need to process. I have been writing (BONUS!) by creating the Cleaning Schedule, going through One More Step and 21 Days to a More Disciplined Life, and planning our upcoming visa trip. These were great calming and coping strategies for me the past few weeks. I may turn a little of it into blog material eventually, but as I am learning about my role of being “Just” a stay at home mom this year, owning the “just”, rejoicing in the freedom of being able to read, write, or just stare at flowers for a long time, storing up resilience, being wooed to God’s side, getting to know my kids, I am not burdened by blogging. I love sharing with you all, so I will continue, but I have been able to release it to God as well. So freeing!

Exercise

Bikini Body Mommy 4.0

Videos 64-70
I didn’t actually accomplish all the videos. One day I sat for an hour with no internet, so I worked on a project for Louis instead and we went for a big walk in the evening. Another day Davy walked into me lifting a dumbbell and so I stopped working out to care for his head which had a huge bump from the dumbbell. I used Spark People to calculate the time I should use as a goal if I end up using stair climbing or a walk as my exercise instead of the video and I was able to match that the first week. The day that I hit Davy with the dumbbell was the same day I got this huge bruise on my leg (possibly from him kicking me while I iced his head), but I kept pushing and we did two big outings with lots of walking and lifting, but the day I am writing this I have been in bed all day with it throbbing, only dulled by the ibuprofen. So, I am going to take some time this week to heal. Perhaps I will do arm exercises or abs, but even moving my thigh last night was hurting my calf, so I will be cautious.

Measurements, Pictures, and Weigh In It turns out this coming Monday, June 13th is the day for my weigh in. Bikini Body Mommy recommends 15 day intervals. So Monday I will weigh in and do pictures. Hopefully Louis can keep my bruise out of the pictures.

Goals for this Coming Week

Cleaning Mega Project

This week begins the use of my new cleaning schedule.

Use a timer (iPod mix) for 20 minutes in the morning, post workout while I cool down.

Complete this cleaning time by 3pm each day.

Use timer again for cooking dinner & a 10-20 minute clean of what is left on the list.

Reading

Read 2 Books.

Writing

Continue to Journal through the two workbooks One More Step & 21 Days to a More Disciplined Life.

Exercise

Take it slow. Do not overuse my leg that is still hurting.

Measurements, Pictures, and Weigh In

Workout Plan: If my leg hurts on my grocery trip at the beginning of the week, then I will modify to do only upper body and abs throughout the week.

1. Grocery Trip Cardio Walking

2. Take time to calculate progress during this Challenge 4.0 which is almost completed.

& Abs Video

3. Video 80 & Abs

4. Video 81 or Abs

5. Video 82 & Abs

6. Video 83 or Abs

7. Sabbath Rest

Author: Annie Liss

Currently a mother and a wife who loves reading. Formerly a middle school math teacher who kept too busy and stressed out to read. My husband and I are missionaries in Lebanon.

Leave a Reply

