Discipline

    I just finished going through this entire book. I kept track in scrawlings and notes and journals as I worked toward the goal of changing my attitude to that of joy toward cleaning our home. The steps truly did help me. Crystal Paine is one of my favorite bloggers, as many of you know from my constant reference to her posts.

This book was perfect for me since my word of the year is Discipline. I had seen it so many times as I looked up Crystal Paine articles, and I finally bought it and I am so happy I did. The success I achieved in the past 21 days was amazing! This book takes one big project you would like to get done, and walks you through accomplishing it alongside your real life. Each day there is a practical “mini-project” which will help reframe and prioritize general pieces of life to help you thrive. The big project gets done in 10-15 minute segments each day.

My Mega Project for this first round was to change my attitude toward cleaning our home to one of joy. This is am impossible task to measure, but in reflecting I grew so much in that area. We have a usable cleaning schedule that everyone has a part in, and it looks nice, too. We have made cleaning a habit, and laundry getting done one load per day has been another lifehack habit I have mastered. I even saw the bottom of both hampers in the last week!

As soon as I finished the official 21 days today, I actually sat down and started the whole process again for a new Mega Project! Crystal mentioned using the book over and over as a way to reinforce habits. I made myself an Excel document that I can use over and over which will include revisiting the mini projects. My new Mega Project is to create a book challenge of my own for 2017, and one for both kids. This will include building bookshelves. I am very excited, and I know that this is one of those ideas that would have been exciting to start, burned me out, and never gotten completed. However, by breaking it up into bite size pieces, planning in days to reevaluate the steps, and determine if I need a little longer, I know I will stay motivated.

If you have a part of your life you are hoping to tighten up, a goal you can accomplish in three weeks, or you just want to think through discipline in your own life, I recommend this book to you.

Title: 21 Days to a More Disciplined Life

Author: Crystal Paine

Publisher: Amazon Digital Services LLC

Publication Date: October 20, 2012

# Pages: 75

Special Features: e-book, written to women, discipline, goals

Price: Kindle $4.99

ASIN: B009UGKEC4

Author: Annie Liss

Currently a mother and a wife who loves reading. Formerly a middle school math teacher who kept too busy and stressed out to read. My husband and I are missionaries in Lebanon.

4 thoughts on “Discipline”

Leave a Reply

