The One Essential To My Holiday Meal Plans

This is Day 9 of my FREE 21 Day Writing Challenge. It isn’t too late to Join the Challenge! All caught up! What I am learning through this challenge is how to set myself up for success. It isn’t always the time or the planning, it is sometimes just the environment. I can set aside the right amount of time and have my coffee and even be inspired to write. But my daughter had a tooth come in last night and fall over screaming in front of me while I began typing. No work could get done well! I am planning on creating a study space for myself by walking down the hill to the seminary so I can study and write every day when we get back to Lebanon, and right now I am taking the time to notice which distractions affect me. Noise, obviously, but also too many plans left up in the air. If I sit down to write and keep thinking about what I need to do, or what I wish Louis was doing, or how the kids are still awake and it is nap time, I can’t write anything. Finally, I am learning to take a deep breath, and just write. To put aside whatever worry, knowing that I am only going to take about half an hour to put out a post. This lesson is teaching me a discipline that other people have mastered, but now I am learning not to worry.

Holiday Dinner

What emotion rises in you when you hear that phrase? I have never been in charge of a holiday meal until I got married and volunteered, but my sister has often been in charge of cooking the holiday meals. This has had its highs and lows as any one of you who has been around holiday meal planning, shopping, cooking, and serving can relate to. When I got married, I wanted to help out with the meal more, so I have taken on a few meals here and there at the holidays. Since I am now enjoying cooking, and have gotten much better at arranging foods to all come out at the same time hot and ready to eat with a table already set, Davy and I have been planning to have our holiday meal tonight, on the 23rd. Davy is giving Louis’ parents two guest passes to take him to the Desert Museum, and we are serving up a fancy dinner.

Timing

How am I sitting here writing three blog posts in a row at noon if I need to be cooking? Because I opted out of the cooking portion. I looked at the traditional meal, and decided that rather than learn to make brisket, I would order from my favorite place, Famous Dave’s. So I get to sit and write blog posts, the kids get to play with their grandparents, and all the stress of cooking gets to happen in a different building. I am very excited, and would love to have pictures of the wonderful serving plates and bowls I bought to make the meal look fancy, but I get to finish this post hours before I even order the meal.

Family

As I shared earlier, I like to focus on the intentionality of traditions, and we want to focus on letting Davy give the gifts he has been so excited to have for his grandparents. We are going to focus on being together and talking and relaxing. I can have fun decorating with gold and blue and drinking coffee throughout. It is going to be a good, calm, family focused holiday for us this year beginning early!

This post is one of a series meant to kickstart a writing habit. I created exclusive prompts which are emailed to those of us signed up for my FREE 21 Day Writing Challenge. I am posting my responses each day, and I invite you to join me in this writing journey by CLICKING HERE! The only way to receive the prompts is to sign up for the Challenge. The emails will include the prompt for the day as well as directions to kickstart your writing habit for any combination of the following:

  • Personal Journal
  • Prayer Journal
  • Blog
  • Christmas/New Year Letter or Correspondence
Author: Annie Liss

Currently a mother and a wife who loves reading. Formerly a middle school math teacher who kept too busy and stressed out to read. My husband and I are missionaries in Lebanon.

Leave a Reply

