Goals for 2017


Goals for 2017

1: Read 52 Books. Aka Read 1 Book Each Week

2: Read the entire Bible.

3: Consistency in Blogging, Homeschool, Arabic, and Home Life

4: Lose 50 lbs and be able to do 10 Real Pushups

These ended up being my 4 big goals. They were really under construction through March.

As I shared in my post about my ongoing habit progress, I am just getting to the point of being able to verbalize what has been going on over the first half of 2017. I wanted to share my goals even though it is “late” by regular seasonal standards because I know there are many of you out there who never got around to setting goals for the year or for reasons only you know have given up on your goals.

I did give up on my first run of goals. In December when Kyrie was healed and had a complete transformation into a joyful, energetic little girl, I knew that my goals were obsolete. And 2017 hadn’t even started! I have taken the first 5 months of this year to get to know this new little girl, and to see what life has to offer now that we are out from under the pressure of waiting on surgery.

RESEARCH

I ended up realizing that there were projects and events which were going to make up a large part of my year. I could not determine measurable goals for these categories, so instead I just decided to spend some time this year on vague ideas.

To make goals that would be achievable if I lived in the same place and could maintain a routine is ideal, but not reality. Instead I needed to be realistic about there being projects I needed to research, which couldn’t really count toward a book goal, even if I may read some books, other pieces would be articles, documentaries I could watch, discussion, experience, etc. So I did not raise my book goal. I also just couldn’t come up with a way to make a generic research goal, so I wrote down the topics I knew I want to research and know I will be adding to this list.

EVENTS

There are also many huge events that have made up the first half of the year and which are coming up. So, I took about half of my Goals for 2017 page to list big events.

Already completed:

Davy’s 4th Birthday Party (was extended into our America trip from November.)

Trip to America (January)

Move to Sin el Fil (a different city closer to Louis’ work)

Horizons Eastern Staff Summit

Kyrie’s 2nd Birthday / Healing Celebration

Louis Job Promotion

Visa Trip to Greece

Engaging Islam Institute Beirut (Currently Going On)

Adding an extra Weekly Session of Arabic

Coming Up:

Garden Show

America Partnership Development Trip June—August (CLICK HERE if you are in or around Arizona and want to meet with me personally to hear about Lebanon)

Davy’s 5th Birthday

Davy starting KG2

Kyrie starting daycare

Starting my Master’s program through Rutgers

Our Last Visa Trip of 2017 sometime in October

Adding an extra Weekly Session of Arabic

Author: Annie Liss

Currently a mother and a wife who loves reading. Formerly a middle school math teacher who kept too busy and stressed out to read. My husband and I are missionaries in Lebanon.

One thought on “Goals for 2017”

Leave a Reply

