When Did People Become A Bad Word?

PEOPLE

It seems that people love animals more and more as time goes on. This belief permeates the world that animals are innocent, and people aren’t. Except that Sneaky Snake, but I guess we try to forget about him. We get to blame whatever animals do on instinct, but with each other we know better.

We thought growing up that there were good guys and bad guys, but it turns out that we are all just people. Flesh, bone, marrow, and spirit.

Without a purpose, our lives can take a quick turn down into that dark, cold spiral.

I strongly believe, and know that God has called me. I also believe just as strongly that God has called you. If you answer God’s Call you will gain purpose and get to join a journey far more epic than that of Samwise and Frodo.

Once grace takes hold, it rips through boulders that seemed to block the path, and it rips through you and pours out all over the place. Like a dripping loufa scrubber in your shower, grace gets all over the place. And that’s good!

I have shared previously about the main focus of a Call from God as the Paragon, Focus, or Ideal of a person’s life. I feel very passionately that we are a part of an epic tale, but also that God has our very own book being written. And in my book I have responsibilities that do not come from other people, but from God. And those responsibilities tie in perfectly with the jobs He has given others around me, which links us together!

I am the church, you are the church, we are the church together!

Being the church means being People, together. Sharing with each other this grace, this God. It is messy because we are still human throughout the process. We have a perfect model in Jesus Christ, but we ourselves will not be perfect until we all dance together in Heaven.

“I could never do what you are doing.”

As a missionary in the Middle East the thing I hear more than anything else is. I know that what they mean is that they think I am strong, gifted, called, and inspiring. I am honored and blessed that people think that about us. There is something else to that comment, however, it seems that it also means that I have some super power. I have no super powers.

I am a human being! Just like you.

And I could not do what you do. God called you to your life, which could easily include a great many things I am not equipped for. I spent some time this year tutoring Evan, pictured here with Kyrie, in math, but also Louis and I have been spending time pouring into his family before they move to Argentina where they have a church sponsoring them. This family has inspired me to take the call even farther, and to look outside of the routines we have formed the past few years. I want to see what new things God has in store. There are things God is calling me to do that even I am saying, “I can’t do that.” Now I am adding one important word…

YET

I can’t help churches sponsor refugees YET. But hopefully I will be able to help in new ways soon.

God’s Assignment

I am taking the assignment from God for my life and doing my best, but I fail. I go months without posting. I scream and shout when things don’t go my way. My house gets really messy. And I don’t always want to love others and care.

What keeps me going is knowing I am not alone. I have God in my tummy, and people all over the world are a part of my family. We are all working toward the same goals, God’s goals, and that makes it easier to work out differences, and get motivated to keep on keeping on.

The church is not a building, the church is everywhere. We are everywhere. Someone near you is feeling alone and outside of the church, the family, the love, and it might just be your responsibility to find that person and invite them in. This isn’t a closed group. This is a family that loves to have one more potato salad at the picnic.

Can you find some more potato salad? Do you hear the call? Do you feel the pushing of God to step out and share His love with others?

If anything I am saying relates to you, let me know in the comments. How do you take the responsibility of God’s calling and share your gifts, talents, and passions with those around you?

Author: Annie Liss

Currently a mother and a wife who loves reading. Formerly a middle school math teacher who kept too busy and stressed out to read. My husband and I are missionaries in Lebanon.

Leave a Reply

